Leicester sacré champion d’Angleterre après son succès sur les Saracens

In a Twickenham stadium which had been full for the occasion and vibrated until the end, on Saturday, the Leicester Tigers managed to win the finish over the Saracens (15-12) after a final of the undecided English championship until the end. It was sealed at the last minute by a drop-goal from the opener replacing Freddie Burns (entered from the 23rd), put in position by a remarkable work of advance from his forwards, a kick that would not have denied Jonny Wilkinson, like the one he won, all things considered, in the 2003 World Cup final.

Spectacular in the first period with two tries from the South African forwards of Leicester (Hanro Liebenberg in the 26th, Jasper Wiese in the 34th) who took advantage of the yellow card received by the Welsh scrum-half of Sarries, Aled Davies (23rd), this match big arms nevertheless remained limited to the combat of very committed forwards and tactical footwork in the box. Very penalized, the Saracens managed in the second half not to cash a third try, blocking the battering of the Leicester pack.

Led (12-6) until the hour mark, they then managed, behind a highlight, to score a third penalty goal (64th) in order to tighten the score (12-9). Rather comfortable in the scrum, the Saracens found the interval in the 73rd and inflicted on Leicester a long series of playing time concluded with a yellow card against Matt Scott (76th) and a fourth goal, signed Owen Farrell. Tied (12-12), the two teams saw their destiny change on a drop-goal from Freddie Burns (80th) near the posts. After nine seasons of scarcity, the Leicester Tigers won their eleventh national title since 1988 and the creation of the English championship.




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.